New PC Thread #25421

For random chat about stuff that isn't World of Warcraft.

Moderator: Guild Shogun

Smuigh
Hunter and Priest Class Leader

New PC Thread #25421

Post by Smuigh »

So it's been about a week since anything was posted around here about a new PC build so I thought I should have a turn. I've been meaning to upgrade/replace my 5 year old steam powered rust bucket for a while and now and after a few freezes and BSODs over the last couple days, I decided it's time to splash some cash.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes down to the insides of PCs so I'm afraid I might need a little more help than usual. Also I don't want to be building it myself so I've been looking through Scan's 3XS Systems which a lot of is meaningless to me. So I was wondering if you could help me choose something suitable for my budget and needs.

I have roughly £1000 to spend but can go a bit higher if there's something that'd be silly not to spend a little bit more on. I'd like it to get me a PC that'll last another 5 years (if not, more). I'll mostly be playing WoW on it but I'd like it to run SC2 and DiabloIII at as close to top settings as possible. Something nice and quiet would be a nice change too. I'd also like to finally own a legal copy of Windows7. Finally, if there's any money left a new screen wouldn't go a miss either. I hope that's not asking too much :P

Thanks in advance!
--- Smuigh ---
- Fayenia - Voen - Rhosyn - Zhaomian - Knuurv - Casurel - Eloza - Tydenn -
Smuigh

Re: New PC Thread #25421

Post by Smuigh »

Picked out this basic setup. Looks to be a decent enough starting price to pick some of the upgrades but there are so many that I'm not sure where to start.

I hear from friends that a solid state drive is a good thing to get nowadays. Also is it OK to use the onboard sound and network cards like it suggests? I'll pick out a screen I want some time today so I have a better idea of how much I have to spend.
--- Smuigh ---
Danders

Post by Danders »